Biwi ko marna, ek aam tamasha / Beating a wife, a Common Scenario

Enduring Freedom

Learn More about Islam and Women / عورت اور اسلام کے بارے میں مزید جانیے

English:

Muhammad Qais… reported that.. ‘A’isha … narrated…:

When it was my turn for Muhammad to spend the night with me, he turned his side…. and…. thought that I had gone to sleep. He… opened the door and went out and.. closed it lightly. I covered my head, put on my veil and tightened my waist wrapper, and then went out following his steps till he reached Baqi’. He stood there and he stood for a long time…. He ran and I too ran. He came (to the house) and I also came (to the house). I, however, preceded him and I entered (the house), and as I lay down in the bed, he entered the (house), and said: Why is it, O ‘A’isha, that you are out of breath? I said: There is nothing. He said: Tell me or the Subtle and the Aware would inform me. I said: Messenger of Allah, may my father and mother be ransom for you, and then I told him (the whole story). He said: Was it the darkness (of your shadow) that I saw in front of me? I said: Yes. He struck me on the chest which caused me pain, and then said: Did you think that Allah and His Apostle would deal unjustly with you?”

Sahih Muslim  4:2127

Narrated Umar ibn al-Khattab: Muhammad said: A man will not be asked as to why he beat his wife.

Abu Dawud 11:2142